Selected for Google Summer of Code 2014!

I have been selected for Google Summer of Code 2014 and the project that I will be working on is Mochitest Failure Investigator (abstract) mentored by the awesome Joel Maher. Basically, this project aims at building a tool that will help contributors find the origin of test failures for mochitest on local as well as production machines, thus leading to accelerated development and debugging.

In the past few weeks, I have hacked and patched a couple of bugs for mochitest and am learning how the test harness works. I have started work on my GSoC project and I have developed a test case which is crafted to show a failure so that we can detect it. It is a simple test case in which I have set a dummy value to a fake preference and then checking afterwards whether it is the same. If it is so, then I make the test to fail. Now, the next step is to understand properly how the python and javascript harness of mochitest works together and I will spend this week doing the same.

I am really excited for this project and will write about my work regarding the project regularly.

One thought on “Selected for Google Summer of Code 2014!

Leave a Reply

