Saving time in Incremental Builds

For the past couple of days, I have been working on Mochitest and many times I have to make small changes in some files for debugging purposes. These changes belong to a single file most of the times and sometimes to multiple files. Previously whenever I used to make some changes, I did an incremental build to test it out. It used to take approx 5 mins each time I did an incremental build. Recently, I have found out a way to speed up the debugging process and save time in incremental builds. Now, whenever I make some changes to some files I just replace those files in the corresponding subdirectory of {objdir}. This method works as the build system copies the files in the source tree to the {objdir}. For example, if I make some changes in runtests.py for mochitest, I just need to replace that file inside {objdir}/_tests/testing/mochitest and directly jump to testing the changes I make, thus saving a significant amount of time. There are other methods too such as using ‘make’ but I tend to prefer this way.

Leave a Reply

